Hunter Advocacy Award

This award is reserved for an individual who have shown outstanding devotion in supporting Family Child Care Providers in Kansas and whose leadership has promoted quality standards in the field. It is given annually at our professional event in April.

The Hunter Advocacy Award was established in 1998 in recognition of the critical role Kharon Hunter played in the formation of the state organization for family child care providers and her continued advocacy efforts. Kharon was well known throughout the State as a dedicated trainer and advocate, and an ever-present source of knowledge and information to all who knew her.


Kharon lost her battle with breast cancer after a 14 year struggle and passed away in December 2000. However, she left behind a legacy including many family child care providers who were proud to call her a mentor and friend.

This award serves as a continuing tribute to her life and untiring efforts on behalf of children, families and the profession of family child care.

2020 Hunter Award Recipient

CCPC is honored to name Caroline Teter of Wichita, Kansas as the Hunter Advocacy Award recipient for 2020. Caroline is an Early Childhood Specialist with Child Care Aware of Kansas Region 2, located within Child Start’s Early Childhood Connections program in Wichita, KS. She is also an adjunct faculty member for Butler County Community College’s Early Childhood Department. Caroline has served in various roles within the early childhood education field for over 15 years. She has continually gone above and beyond to advocate for, educate, and support family childcare providers both in her professional and personal endeavors. Caroline’s dedication to family child care providers is evident. Through her daily interactions with providers, Caroline is “able to celebrate each program’s individual strengths and needs.”

Past Hunter Award Recipients

1998     Kharon Hunter

1998     Leadell Ediger

1999     Bill Anderson

2000    Becky Woerz

2001     Reva Wywadis

2004    Laurie Pigg

2005    Carolyn Weinhold

2006    Jane Wieler

2008    Janet Newton

2012      Beth Reeder

2013      Audra Kennison

2014      Mary Murphy

2015      Maureen Kitzi

2016      Carlos Gomez

2017      Bev Long

2018      Rachel Sisson

2019     Dawn Brown

2020    Caroline Teter

Do you know someone that deserves this award?
Hunter Award Nomination Form 
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram